Women

Home/Women

DrAlvin.com Welcomes Maysa To The Derby City Jazz Festival On August 11-12th. See You There!

Derby City Jazz Festival Welcome to year two of the Derby City Jazz Festival (DCJF)! Come and join us for two great days of exceptional entertainment featuring some of the world’s best smooth jazz artist. This year’s festival will take place at the site of the historic Kentucky Derby and Churchill Downs Race Track. The Paddock Area– Plaza Stage provides the perfect back drop for this summertime event. Enjoy the best in smooth jazz music, take in the flavor of historic Churchill Downs and the Kentucky Derby Museum and experience the best in food, culture and spirits that Louisville has to offer! Brown-Forman is the signature event sponsor, so be prepared to sample some of [...]

Real Talk With Dr. Valencia Campbell: Prince George’s County Drug Policy Coalition to Honor Student Leaders Chats With Dr. Alvin

LateShift-Valencia Campbell 060917 PGCDPC To Honor Student Leaders

Kate Quinn, Author Of The Alice Network: A Novel Chats With Dr. Alvin

Kate Quinn In an enthralling new historical novel from national bestselling author Kate Quinn, two women—a female spy recruited to the real-life Alice Network in France during World War I and an unconventional American socialite searching for her cousin in 1947—are brought together in a mesmerizing story of courage and redemption. 1947. In the chaotic aftermath of World War II, American college girl Charlie St. Clair is pregnant, unmarried, and on the verge of being thrown out of her very proper family. She's also nursing a desperate hope that her beloved cousin Rose, who disappeared in Nazi-occupied France during the war, might still be alive. So when Charlie's parents banish her to Europe to have [...]

Dr. Michael J. Bradley Crazy-Stressed: Saving Today’s Overwhelmed Teens With Love, Laughter, And The Science of Resilience Chats With Dr. Alvin

Michael Bradley A little resilience goes a long way.... Peel back the cheerful facade that parents present, and you'll find that many are worried about their teens. Mood swings, impulsiveness, poor judgment, and other problems peak in these years. Add stressors such as screen addiction, cyberbullying, increasing academic demands, and time-consuming athletic commitments . . . and it's no surprise that today's teenagers rank as the most anxious in 50 years. Parents long to help, but how? Based on a career counseling kids and their parents, psychologist Michael Bradley locates the most powerful protective trait: resilience. Teens with this crucial quality know how to handle difficulty, overcome obstacles, and bounce back from setbacks. Packed with [...]

Real Talk With Dr. Valencia Campbell: Howard University President To Speak At Coalition Scholarship Program Chats With Dr. Alvin

LateShift-Valencia Campbell 051917 HU Pres To Speak

Thick As Thieves By Megan Whalen Turner Chats With Dr. Alvin

Megan Whalen Turner Discover the world of the Queen’s Thief Thick as Thieves is the eagerly anticipated new stand-alone novel set in the world of the Queen’s Thief. New York Times-bestselling author Megan Whalen Turner’s entrancing and award-winning Queen’s Thief novels bring to life the world of the epics and feature one of the most charismatic and incorrigible characters of fiction, Eugenides the thief. Megan Whalen Turner’s Queen’s Thief novels are rich with political machinations and intrigue, battles lost and won, dangerous journeys, divine intervention, power, passion, revenge, and deception. Perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Marie Lu, Patrick Rothfuss, and George R. R. Martin. Kamet, a secretary and slave to his Mede master, has [...]