My Conversation With Dr. Kaylene, Author Of When The Mirror Shatters On DrAlvin.Com

Click Here To Listen Dr Kaylene

By |August 27th, 2019|Biography, Gospel, Music, Spirituality, Women|Comments Off on My Conversation With Dr. Kaylene, Author Of When The Mirror Shatters On DrAlvin.Com

Listen To “Merry Mary Ann”, The New Smooth Jazz Single Written & Composed By Dr. Alvin & K.C. Martin

Click Here To Listen Mastered Jazz-Dr Alvin KC Martin-Merry Mary Ann It was created to honor Mary Ann Davis. Happy Birthday.

By |March 18th, 2019|Jazz, Music|Comments Off on Listen To “Merry Mary Ann”, The New Smooth Jazz Single Written & Composed By Dr. Alvin & K.C. Martin

My Conversation Chris Cander, Author Of With The Weight of a Piano: A Novel

Click Here To Listen Chris Cander For fans of Ann Patchett's Bel Canto, Annie Proulx's Accordion Crimes, Amanda Coplin's The Orchardist A tour-de-force about two women and the piano that inexorably ties their lives together through time and across continents, for better and for worse. In 1962, in the Soviet Union, eight-year-old Katya is bequeathed what will become the love of her life: a Blüthner piano, built at the turn of the century in Germany, on which she discovers everything that she herself can do with music and what music, in turn, does for her. Yet after marrying, she emigrates with her young family from Russia to America, at her husband's frantic insistence, and her [...]

By |January 24th, 2019|Fiction, Music|Comments Off on My Conversation Chris Cander, Author Of With The Weight of a Piano: A Novel

My Conversation With Meredith Ochs, Author of Aretha: The Queen of Soul—A Life in Photographs

Click Here To Listen Meredith Ochs This beautifully illustrated unofficial retrospective celebrates the Queen of Soul, Aretha Franklin, and reflects on her life, music, and legacy. Aretha Franklin’s voice was legendary, unforgettable: deeply rooted in gospel, yet versatile enough to brilliantly interpret R&B, rock, soul, pop, and jazz standards, it fueled a six-decade career. Her vocal wallop was a mix of preaching, rebuke, and elation. From the languorous “I Never Loved a Man (the Way That I Love You),” to the funky “Chain of Fools,” to the fiercely feminist “Think,” to the definitive, demanding version of Otis Redding’s “Respect,” Franklin’s songs played out against the tumultuous sociopolitical backdrop of the late ’60s like a soundtrack [...]

By |December 11th, 2018|African Americans, Gospel, Music, Performing Arts, Women|Comments Off on My Conversation With Meredith Ochs, Author of Aretha: The Queen of Soul—A Life in Photographs

My Conversation With Jason Heller Author Of Strange Stars: David Bowie, Pop Music, And The Decade Sci-Fi Exploded

Click Here To Listen Jason Heller A Hugo Award-winning author and music journalist explores the weird and wild story of when rock ’n’ roll met the sci-fi world of the 1970s As the 1960s drew to a close, and mankind trained its telescopes on other worlds, old conventions gave way to a new kind of hedonistic freedom that celebrated sex, drugs, and rock ’n’ roll. Derided as nerdy or dismissed as fluff, science fiction rarely gets credit for its catalyzing effect on this revolution. In Strange Stars, Jason Heller recasts sci-fi and pop music as parallel cultural forces that depended on one another to expand the horizons of books, music, and out-of-this-world imagery. In doing [...]

By |June 21st, 2018|African Americans, History, Music, Science Fiction|Comments Off on My Conversation With Jason Heller Author Of Strange Stars: David Bowie, Pop Music, And The Decade Sci-Fi Exploded

Enjoy One Hour Of The Top 11 R&B Father’s Day Songs Presented By DrAlvin.Com

Click Here To Listen To Part 1 DrAlvinCom Top 11 R&B Father Day Songs Part 1 Click Here To Listen To Part 2 DrAlvinCom Top 11 R&B Father Day Songs Part 2 Top 11 Father Day Songs (inspired by Bil Carpenter) Father Father Angie & Debbie Winans Dance With My Father Luther Vandross Color Him Father The Winstons My Daddy Evelyn Turrentine-Agee Daddy Lessons` Beyonce Papa Was A Rolling Stone The Temptations Daddy Could Swear Gladys Knight & The Pips Just Like Me Lecrae Don’t Let Go James Ingram Patches Clarence Carter Father I’m Comin Home Harvey Watkins & The Canton Spirituals I dedicate this feature to Henry Jones, my grandfather and John W. Jones, [...]

By |June 16th, 2018|African Americans, Music, Uncategorized|Comments Off on Enjoy One Hour Of The Top 11 R&B Father’s Day Songs Presented By DrAlvin.Com

My Conversation With Jeff Burger, Editor Of Dylan On Dylan: Interviews And Encounters (Musicians In Their Own Words)

Click Here To Listen Jeff Burger In a 1969 conversation with Rolling Stone editor Jann Wenner, Bob Dylan proclaimed, “I don’t give interviews.” But in truth, he has spoken at length with print publications large and small and with broadcast media around the world, given numerous press conferences, and even answered listeners’ questions on call-in radio shows. Dylan can be as evasive and abstruse as he is witty; he can also be cranky and sarcastic. But in the right moments, he offers candid, revealing commentary about his groundbreaking music and creative process. These engrossing provide glimpses into the mind of one of the most important performers and songwriters of the last hundred years. Dylan on [...]

By |May 28th, 2018|Biography, Music|Comments Off on My Conversation With Jeff Burger, Editor Of Dylan On Dylan: Interviews And Encounters (Musicians In Their Own Words)

“I Can’t Make You Love Me” from A Classic Evening Of Music “Live” with Gale Mayes

Click Here To Listen Live With Gale Mayes-I Cant Make You Love Me

By |May 23rd, 2018|African Americans, Jazz, Music|Comments Off on “I Can’t Make You Love Me” from A Classic Evening Of Music “Live” with Gale Mayes