My Conversation With Carolyn Sloan, Author Of Welcome to Jazz: A Swing-Along Celebration Of America’s Music, Featuring “When the Saints Go Marching In”

Click Here To Listen Carolyn Sloan Are you ready to swing? Discover the wonders of jazz: How to get in the groove, what it means to play a solo, and the joy of singing along in a call-and-response. In this interactive swing-along picture book with 12 sound chips, you’ll hear the instruments of jazz—the rhythm section with its banjo, drums, and tuba, and the leads, like the clarinet, trumpet, and trombone. And you’ll hear singers scat, improvising melodies with nonsense syllables like be-bop and doo-we-ah! Along the way, you’ll learn how this unique African American art form started in New Orleans, and how jazz changed over time as innovative musicians like King Oliver, Louis Armstrong, [...]

By |October 17th, 2019|African Americans, Education, Jazz, Music, Uncategorized, Youth|Comments Off on My Conversation With Carolyn Sloan, Author Of Welcome to Jazz: A Swing-Along Celebration Of America’s Music, Featuring “When the Saints Go Marching In”

My Conversation With David Schiller, Author Of Guitar: The World’s Most Seductive Instrument

Click Here To Listen David Schiller Celebrate the significance, the magic, and the mojo of the world’s most seductive instrument. An obsessive, full-color book presented in an irresistible slipcase, Guitar features 200 instruments in stunning detail. Here are icons, like Prince’s Yellow Cloud, Willie Nelson’s “Trigger,” Muddy Water’s Thunderbird, and “Rocky,” lovingly hand-painted by its owner, George Harrison. Historic instruments—Fender’s Broadcaster, Les Paul’s “Log,” the Gibson Nick Lucas Special, the very first artist model. Hand-carved archtops, pinnacles of the luthier’s art, from John D’Angelico to Ken Parker. Stunning acoustics from a new wave of women builders, like Rosie Heydenrych of England, who’s known to use 5,000-year-old wood retrieved from a peat bog. And quirky one-of-a-kind [...]

By |October 2nd, 2019|History, Music|Comments Off on My Conversation With David Schiller, Author Of Guitar: The World’s Most Seductive Instrument

Tribute Song: Uncle Lee by Dr. Alvin

Click Here To Listen Uncle Lee by Dr Alvin featuring K.C. Martin This is my tribute to a great brother (in-law) Lee Milton Hancock. For over 50 years I witnessed a friend who loved his family, ministry and business. It doesn't get any better. Hopefully my words and music produced by K.C. Martin will inspire you. RIP. Cards & Donations can be sent to: Barbara Jean Jones Hancock, 11020 Lake Arbor Way Bowie Maryland 20721. For information on memorial activities contact Bomani Armah at bomani@babagotbars.com. Thank you. Uncle Lee (First Verse) You have not lived until you’ve learned how to smile You don’t know how to give until you’ve been kind for a while It’s [...]

By |September 28th, 2019|African Americans, Biography, Music|Comments Off on Tribute Song: Uncle Lee by Dr. Alvin

My Conversation With Dr. Kaylene, Author Of When The Mirror Shatters On DrAlvin.Com

Click Here To Listen Dr Kaylene

By |August 27th, 2019|Biography, Gospel, Music, Spirituality, Women|Comments Off on My Conversation With Dr. Kaylene, Author Of When The Mirror Shatters On DrAlvin.Com

Listen To “Merry Mary Ann”, The New Smooth Jazz Single Written & Composed By Dr. Alvin & K.C. Martin

Click Here To Listen Mastered Jazz-Dr Alvin KC Martin-Merry Mary Ann It was created to honor Mary Ann Davis. Happy Birthday.

By |March 18th, 2019|Jazz, Music|Comments Off on Listen To “Merry Mary Ann”, The New Smooth Jazz Single Written & Composed By Dr. Alvin & K.C. Martin

My Conversation Chris Cander, Author Of With The Weight of a Piano: A Novel

Click Here To Listen Chris Cander For fans of Ann Patchett's Bel Canto, Annie Proulx's Accordion Crimes, Amanda Coplin's The Orchardist A tour-de-force about two women and the piano that inexorably ties their lives together through time and across continents, for better and for worse. In 1962, in the Soviet Union, eight-year-old Katya is bequeathed what will become the love of her life: a Blüthner piano, built at the turn of the century in Germany, on which she discovers everything that she herself can do with music and what music, in turn, does for her. Yet after marrying, she emigrates with her young family from Russia to America, at her husband's frantic insistence, and her [...]

By |January 24th, 2019|Fiction, Music|Comments Off on My Conversation Chris Cander, Author Of With The Weight of a Piano: A Novel

My Conversation With Meredith Ochs, Author of Aretha: The Queen of Soul—A Life in Photographs

Click Here To Listen Meredith Ochs This beautifully illustrated unofficial retrospective celebrates the Queen of Soul, Aretha Franklin, and reflects on her life, music, and legacy. Aretha Franklin’s voice was legendary, unforgettable: deeply rooted in gospel, yet versatile enough to brilliantly interpret R&B, rock, soul, pop, and jazz standards, it fueled a six-decade career. Her vocal wallop was a mix of preaching, rebuke, and elation. From the languorous “I Never Loved a Man (the Way That I Love You),” to the funky “Chain of Fools,” to the fiercely feminist “Think,” to the definitive, demanding version of Otis Redding’s “Respect,” Franklin’s songs played out against the tumultuous sociopolitical backdrop of the late ’60s like a soundtrack [...]

By |December 11th, 2018|African Americans, Gospel, Music, Performing Arts, Women|Comments Off on My Conversation With Meredith Ochs, Author of Aretha: The Queen of Soul—A Life in Photographs