My Conversation With Brian Skerry Author Of The Ultimate Book of Sharks (National Geographic Kids)

Click Here To Listen Brian Skerry Dive into the wild world of sharks! Get up close to learn the truth behind these fantastic, ferocious fish with famed National Geographic photographer and explorer Brian Skerry. Join this amazing underwater adventure to track the sharks of the world, from the teeniest dogfish to the everfeared great white. This ultimate book features every species of shark on the planet, with awesome photos, fascinating facts, the latest science, and firsthand stories of real-life encounters with these incredible creatures. Learn how sharks live, how they eat, the challenges they face, and whether or not you are actually on the menu!

My Conversation With Dr. Dana Cohen & Gina Bria, Authors Of Quench: Beat Fatigue, Drop Weight, And Heal Your Body Through the New Science Of Optimum Hydration

Click Here To Listen Dr Dana Cohen Gina Bria Chronic headaches...brain fog...fatigue...weight gain...insomnia...gut pain...autoimmune conditions. We may think these and other all-too-common modern maladies are due to gluten intake or too much sugar or too little exercise. But there is another missing piece to the health puzzle: Proper hydration. Yes, even in this era of Poland Spring many of us are dehydrated due to moisture lacking diets, artificial environments, medications, and over-dependence on water as our only source of hydration. For this reason, that new diet or exercise plan may fail because our body doesn't have enough moisture to support it. Quench presents a wellness routine that can reverse all of that, based on breakthrough [...]

My Conversation With Nathan H. Lents, Author Of Human Errors: A Panorama Of Our Glitches, From Pointless Bones To Broken Genes

Click Here To Listen Nathan Lents An illuminating, entertaining tour of the physical imperfections that make us human We humans like to think of ourselves as highly evolved creatures. But if we are supposedly evolution’s greatest creation, why do we have such bad knees? Why do we catch head colds so often—two hundred times more often than a dog does? How come our wrists have so many useless bones? Why is the vast majority of our genetic code pointless? And are we really supposed to swallow and breathe through the same narrow tube? Surely there’s been some kind of mistake. As professor of biology Nathan H. Lents explains in Human Errors, our evolutionary history is [...]

My Conversation With Samuel Moyn, Author Of Not Enough: Human Rights In An Unequal World

Click Here To Listen Samuel Moyn “Samuel Moyn breaks new ground in examining the relationship between human rights and economic fairness. If we don’t address the growing global phenomenon of economic inequality, the human rights movement as we know it cannot survive or flourish.” ―George Soros The age of human rights has been kindest to the rich. Even as state violations of political rights garnered unprecedented attention due to human rights campaigns, a commitment to material equality disappeared. In its place, market fundamentalism has emerged as the dominant force in national and global economies. In this provocative book, Samuel Moyn analyzes how and why we chose to make human rights our highest ideals while simultaneously [...]

My Conversation With David Reich, Author Of Who We Are And How We Got Here: Ancient DNA And The New Science Of The Human Past

Click Here To Listen David Reich A groundbreaking book about how ancient DNA has profoundly changed our understanding of human history. Geneticists like David Reich have made astounding advances in the field of genomics, which is proving to be as important as archeology, linguistics, and written records as a means to understand our ancestry. In Who We Are and How We Got Here, Reich allows readers to discover how the human genome provides not only all the information a human embryo needs to develop but also the hidden story of our species. Reich delves into how the genomic revolution is transforming our understanding of modern humans and how DNA studies reveal deep inequalities among different [...]

By |May 30th, 2018|History, Science|Comments Off on My Conversation With David Reich, Author Of Who We Are And How We Got Here: Ancient DNA And The New Science Of The Human Past

My Conversation With Barbara Lipska, Author Of The Neuroscientist Who Lost Her Mind: My Tale of Madness and Recovery

Click Here To Listen Barbara Lipska As a deadly cancer spread inside her brain, leading neuroscientist Barbara Lipska was plunged into madness—only to miraculously survive with her memories intact. In the tradition of My Stroke of Insight and Brain on Fire, this powerful memoir recounts her ordeal and explains its unforgettable lessons about the brain and mind. In January 2015, Barbara Lipska—a leading expert on the neuroscience of mental illness—was diagnosed with melanoma that had spread to her brain. Within months, her frontal lobe, the seat of cognition, began shutting down. She descended into madness, exhibiting dementia- and schizophrenia-like symptoms that terrified her family and coworkers. But miraculously, just as her doctors figured out what [...]

My Conversation With Serhii Plokhy, Author Of Chernobyl: The History of a Nuclear Catastrophe

Click Here To Listen Serhii Plokhy-Chernobyl From a preeminent historian of Eastern Europe, the definitive history of the Chernobyl nuclear disaster On the morning of April 26, 1986, Europe witnessed the worst nuclear disaster in history: the explosion of a reactor at the Chernobyl Nuclear Power Plant in Soviet Ukraine. Dozens died of radiation poisoning, fallout contaminated half the continent, and thousands fell ill. In Chernobyl, Serhii Plokhy draws on new sources to tell the dramatic stories of the firefighters, scientists, and soldiers who heroically extinguished the nuclear inferno. He lays bare the flaws of the Soviet nuclear industry, tracing the disaster to the authoritarian character of Communist party rule, the regime's control of scientific [...]

“Live From Sydney Australia”- My Conversation With Sarah Wilson, Author Of First, We Make the Beast Beautiful: A New Journey Through Anxiety

Click Here To Listen Sarah Wilson The New York Times bestselling author of I Quit Sugar transforms cultural perceptions of the mental health issue of our age—anxiety—viewing this widespread condition not as a burdensome affliction but as a powerful spiritual teacher that can deepen our lives. While reading psychiatrist Kay Redfield Jamison’s groundbreaking account of bipolar disorder An Unquiet Mind, Sarah Wilson discovered an ancient Chinese proverb that would change her life: To conquer a beast, you must first make it beautiful. Wilson, a bestselling author, journalist, and entrepreneur, had spent years struggling with her own beast: chronic anxiety. And the words of this proverb would become the key to understanding her condition. First, We [...]

My Conversation With Chester Santos, Author Of Mastering Memory: Techniques To Turn Your Brain From A Sieve To A Sponge

Click Here To Listen Chester Santos Improve your memory immediately, using these proven techniques taught by a former US National Memory Champion. Names. Addresses. Where you left your keys. What would you like to remember? Mastering Memory can help! Chester Santos, the 2008 US National Memory Champion and one of the foremost experts in the field, lays out his techniques for total recall, including the story method, the body method, the journey method, and the phonetic alphabet system. Santos presents his effective strategies in a lively and accessible way, focusing on their practical value to your career and your personal life.

Steve Brusatte, Author Of The Rise And Fall Of The Dinosaurs: A New History Of A Lost World

Click Here To Listen Steve Brusatte A sweeping and revelatory new history of the age of dinosaurs, from one of our finest young scientists. "THE ULTIMATE DINOSAUR BIOGRAPHY." — Scientific American The dinosaurs. Sixty-six million years ago, the Earth’s most fearsome creatures vanished. Today they remain one of our planet’s great mysteries. Now The Rise and Fall of the Dinosaurs reveals their extraordinary, 200-million-year-long story as never before. In this captivating narrative (enlivened with more than seventy original illustrations and photographs), Steve Brusatte, a young American paleontologist who has emerged as one of the foremost stars of the field—naming fifteen new species and leading groundbreaking scientific studies and fieldwork—masterfully tells the complete, surprising, and new [...]