My Conversation With Dr. Michael Engel, Author Of Innumerable Insects: The Story Of The Most Diverse And Myriad Animals On Earth (Natural Histories)

Click To Here To Listen Michael Engel The images . . . are the stars of this work, which will delight every entomophile who turns its pages.” — Publishers Weekly A fascinating look at the world’s most numerous inhabitants, illustrated with stunning images from the American Museum of Natural History’s Rare Book Collection. To date, we have discovered and described or named around 1.1 million insect species, and thousands of new species are added to the ranks every year. It is estimated that there are around five million insect species on Earth, making them the most diverse lineage of all life by far. This magnificent volume from the American Museum of Natural History tells their [...]

My Conversation With Dr. Jeremy James, Author Of The Younger Next Year Back Book: The Whole-Body Plan to Conquer Back Pain Forever

Click Here To Listen Jeremy James At some point in their lives, 80% of Americans will seek expert help for back pain. It’s an epidemic, with a cost to society in medical expenses and lost productivity that is steeper than heart disease. But remember the 80% figure—that’s the astonishing cure rate at Dr. Jeremy James’s Aspen Club Back Institute. A Doctor of Chiropractic who took that path because of his own severe injury-induced back pain, he has developed a revolutionary behavioral/whole-body approach to help sufferers heal—and often eliminate—back pain forever. Co-written with Chris Crowley, The Younger Next Year Back Book follows the alternating chapter format of the #1 New York Times bestselling Younger Next Year [...]

Real Talk With Dr. Valencia Campbell: Mental Health And The Opiod Connection Chats On DrAlvin.Com

Click Here To Listen Dr Valencia Campbell-Mental Health And The Opiod Connection

My Conversation With Dr. Steven Curley, Author Of In My Hands: Compelling Stories From A Surgeon And His Patients Fighting Cancer

Click Here To Listen Steve Curley In IN MY HANDS, surgical oncologist Dr. Steven Curley shares the empowering lessons he's learned over 25 years from his cancer patients' unique stories of struggle, perseverance, and triumph.As Chief of Surgical Oncology at Baylor College of Medicine, Dr. Steven Curley has worked with cancer patients for over two decades. While his life's work has been to help his patients live longer lives, he found that they helped him in ways he never could have expected. IN MY HANDS is a rare, often emotional look at some of Dr. Curley's real patients and real situations in modern cancer care. These stories of resilience, hope, and determination changed and inspired [...]

My Conversation With Brian Skerry Author Of The Ultimate Book of Sharks (National Geographic Kids)

Click Here To Listen Brian Skerry Dive into the wild world of sharks! Get up close to learn the truth behind these fantastic, ferocious fish with famed National Geographic photographer and explorer Brian Skerry. Join this amazing underwater adventure to track the sharks of the world, from the teeniest dogfish to the everfeared great white. This ultimate book features every species of shark on the planet, with awesome photos, fascinating facts, the latest science, and firsthand stories of real-life encounters with these incredible creatures. Learn how sharks live, how they eat, the challenges they face, and whether or not you are actually on the menu!

My Conversation With Dr. Dana Cohen & Gina Bria, Authors Of Quench: Beat Fatigue, Drop Weight, And Heal Your Body Through the New Science Of Optimum Hydration

Click Here To Listen Dr Dana Cohen Gina Bria Chronic headaches...brain fog...fatigue...weight gain...insomnia...gut pain...autoimmune conditions. We may think these and other all-too-common modern maladies are due to gluten intake or too much sugar or too little exercise. But there is another missing piece to the health puzzle: Proper hydration. Yes, even in this era of Poland Spring many of us are dehydrated due to moisture lacking diets, artificial environments, medications, and over-dependence on water as our only source of hydration. For this reason, that new diet or exercise plan may fail because our body doesn't have enough moisture to support it. Quench presents a wellness routine that can reverse all of that, based on breakthrough [...]

My Conversation With Nathan H. Lents, Author Of Human Errors: A Panorama Of Our Glitches, From Pointless Bones To Broken Genes

Click Here To Listen Nathan Lents An illuminating, entertaining tour of the physical imperfections that make us human We humans like to think of ourselves as highly evolved creatures. But if we are supposedly evolution’s greatest creation, why do we have such bad knees? Why do we catch head colds so often—two hundred times more often than a dog does? How come our wrists have so many useless bones? Why is the vast majority of our genetic code pointless? And are we really supposed to swallow and breathe through the same narrow tube? Surely there’s been some kind of mistake. As professor of biology Nathan H. Lents explains in Human Errors, our evolutionary history is [...]

My Conversation With Samuel Moyn, Author Of Not Enough: Human Rights In An Unequal World

Click Here To Listen Samuel Moyn “Samuel Moyn breaks new ground in examining the relationship between human rights and economic fairness. If we don’t address the growing global phenomenon of economic inequality, the human rights movement as we know it cannot survive or flourish.” ―George Soros The age of human rights has been kindest to the rich. Even as state violations of political rights garnered unprecedented attention due to human rights campaigns, a commitment to material equality disappeared. In its place, market fundamentalism has emerged as the dominant force in national and global economies. In this provocative book, Samuel Moyn analyzes how and why we chose to make human rights our highest ideals while simultaneously [...]

My Conversation With David Reich, Author Of Who We Are And How We Got Here: Ancient DNA And The New Science Of The Human Past

Click Here To Listen David Reich A groundbreaking book about how ancient DNA has profoundly changed our understanding of human history. Geneticists like David Reich have made astounding advances in the field of genomics, which is proving to be as important as archeology, linguistics, and written records as a means to understand our ancestry. In Who We Are and How We Got Here, Reich allows readers to discover how the human genome provides not only all the information a human embryo needs to develop but also the hidden story of our species. Reich delves into how the genomic revolution is transforming our understanding of modern humans and how DNA studies reveal deep inequalities among different [...]

By |May 30th, 2018|History, Science|Comments Off on My Conversation With David Reich, Author Of Who We Are And How We Got Here: Ancient DNA And The New Science Of The Human Past

My Conversation With Barbara Lipska, Author Of The Neuroscientist Who Lost Her Mind: My Tale of Madness and Recovery

Click Here To Listen Barbara Lipska As a deadly cancer spread inside her brain, leading neuroscientist Barbara Lipska was plunged into madness—only to miraculously survive with her memories intact. In the tradition of My Stroke of Insight and Brain on Fire, this powerful memoir recounts her ordeal and explains its unforgettable lessons about the brain and mind. In January 2015, Barbara Lipska—a leading expert on the neuroscience of mental illness—was diagnosed with melanoma that had spread to her brain. Within months, her frontal lobe, the seat of cognition, began shutting down. She descended into madness, exhibiting dementia- and schizophrenia-like symptoms that terrified her family and coworkers. But miraculously, just as her doctors figured out what [...]