Andrew Santella, Author Of Soon: An Overdue History Of Procrastination, From Leonardo And Darwin To You And Me Chats On DrAlvin.Com

Click Here To Listen AndrewSantella A fun and erudite celebration of procrastination An entertaining, fact-filled defense of the nearly universal tendency to procrastinate, drawing on the stories of history’s greatest delayers, and on the work of psychologists, philosophers, and behavioral economists to explain why we put off what we’re supposed to be doing and why we shouldn’t feel so bad about it. Like so many of us, including most of America’s workforce, and nearly two-thirds of all university students, Andrew Santella procrastinates. Concerned about his habit, but not quite ready to give it up, he set out to learn all he could about the human tendency to delay. He studied history’s greatest procrastinators to gain [...]

Tara Cousineau, Author The Kindness Cure: How the Science of Compassion Can Heal Your Heart and Your World

Click Here To Listen Tara Cousineau It’s time for a kindness revolution. In The Kindness Cure, psychologist Tara Cousineau draws on cutting-edge research in psychology and neuroscience to show how simple practices of kindness—for ourselves, for others, and for our world—can dissolve our feelings of fear and indifference, and open us up to a life of profound happiness. Compassion for ourselves and others is our birthright as humans—hardwired into our DNA and essential to our happiness. But in our fast-paced, technical savvy and hyper competitive world, it may come as no surprise that rates of narcissism have risen, while empathy levels have declined. We now find ourselves in a “cool to be cruel” culture where [...]

Hector MacDonald, Author Of Truth: How the Many Sides to Every Story Shape Our Reality

Click Here To Listen Hector MacDonald "In a time when truth is under assault, Hector Macdonald is here to defend it. He offers clear-eyed, compelling guidelines for becoming a more accurate consumer and producer of information."--Adam Grant, author of Give and Take, Originals, and Option B with Sheryl Sandberg For fans of Nudge, Sway, and The Art of Thinking Clearly, a fascinating dive into the many ways in which "competing truths" shape our opinions, behaviors, and beliefs. True or false? It's rarely that simple. There is more than one truth about most things. The Internet disseminates knowledge but it also spreads hatred. Eating meat is nutritious but it's also damaging to the environment. When we [...]

WilliamsonBusiness.Com 100 Leading Women 2018: Sharon Stewart

Click Here To Listen Williamson Business 100 Leading Women Sharon Stewart With more than 30 years of experience in Healthcare IT, Sharon helps hospitals make thoughtful, effective investments in information systems, people, processes, and technology. She empowers clients to deliver high-quality, affordable patient care through the use and optimization of information systems, including the implementation of Epic Community Connect systems. Believing that people, not systems, make hospitals work, Sharon takes a human-centered approach to IT system selection and implementation projects. Her strong track record in a variety of settings—including not-for-profit, for-profit, and managed care organizations—is evidence of her deep knowledge of industry trends, systems, and best practices. Sharon has led numerous ICD-10 assessments, implementation plans, [...]

NashvilleBusiness.Net: 100 Leading Women: Sharon Reynolds

Click Here To Listen Nashville Business 100 Leading Women Sharon Reynolds Founded on a dream and a mission, DevMar Products, LLC embodies environmental initiatives that will help sustain our planet for generations to come. In 2007, Sharon W. Reynolds, President/CEO launched the company with an idea to distribute environmentally-friendly products, including green cleaning solutions and office products. Her quest is to provide the highest level of knowledge, expertise, discretion, and integrity in the development of business opportunities for the company and environment. Moreover, she educates clients and suppliers on topics surrounding healthy workplace initiatives. In December 2013, DevMar Products became the sole provider of janitorial supplies and for Core Civic (CC) servicing over 65 facilities [...]

Rachel Herz, Author Of Why You Eat What You Eat: The Science Behind Our Relationship With Food Chats On DrAlvin.Com

Click Here To Listen Rachel Herz An eye-opening exploration of the psychology of eating in today’s unprecedented North American pantry of abundance, access, and excess. In Why You Eat What You Eat, acclaimed neuroscientist Rachel Herz examines the sensory, psychological, neuroscientific, and physiological factors that influence our eating habits. Herz, who’s been praised for her “ability to cite and explain academic studies in a conversational manner” (Washington Post), uncovers the fascinating and surprising facts that influence food consumption―such as why bringing reusable bags to the grocery store encourages us to buy more treats, how our beliefs can affect how many calories we burn, why TV influences how much we eat, and how what we see [...]

Michael Kodas, Author Of Megafire: The Race To Extinguish A Deadly Epidemic Of Flame Chats On DrAlvin.Com

Click Here To Listen Michael Kodas-Megafire A brilliant exploration of the rising phenomenon of megafires—forest fires of alarming scale, intensity, and devastation—that explains the science of what is causing them and captures the danger and heroism of those who fight them In Megafire, a world-renowned journalist and forest fire expert travels to the most dangerous and remote wildernesses, as well as to the backyards of people faced with these environmental disasters, to look at the heart of this phenomenon and witness firsthand the heroic efforts of the firefighters and scientists racing against time to stop it—or at least to tame these deadly flames. From Colorado to California, China to Canada, the narrative hopscotches the globe [...]

Dr. Shelley Uram, Author Of Essential Living: A Guide To Having Happiness And Peace By Reclaiming Your Essential Self Chats On DrAlvin.Com

Click Here To Listen Dr Shelley Uram Most of us think that the key to happiness and fulfillment is having more money, greater career success, or a loving relationship or family. Yet even when we achieve these goals, we ultimately still find ourselves not fully satisfied or happy, and in an endless cycle of wanting more or something different. Why is this? As noted psychiatrist Dr. Shelley Uram shows us, when we peel back the layers to reveal what we really want most in life, it turns out to be the qualities that are already present at our very core―our Essential Self. They include peace, joy, love, a sense of freedom, and a sense of [...]

Dave Braun, Author Of Oola: Find Balance In An Unbalanced World–The Seven Areas You Need To Balance And Grow To Live The Life Of Your Dreams Chats On DrAlvin.Com

Click Here To Listen Dave Braun Oola is not your typical self-help book. So what is it? Just like its origins from the expression "oh lá lá!" Oola is a "state of awesomeness." It's when your life is balanced and growing in the 7 key areas of life--Fitness, Finance, Family, Field (career), Faith, Friends, and Fun. Oola is not stale and stuffy advice, it reads more like a collection of kick-ass anecdotes and sincere stories that just happen to have meaningful messages. Co-authors Dave Braun (@OolaSeeker) and Troy Amdahl (@OolaGuru) have been there and done that. What started out in 1997 as a small group of buddies meeting once a year at the Hard Rock [...]

Dr. Eben Alexander, Author Of Living In A Mindful Universe: A Neurosurgeon’s Journey Into The Heart Of Consciousness Chats On DrAlvin.Com

Click Here To Listen Eben Alexander-Living In A Mindful Universe Dr. Eben Alexander, author of international phenomenon Proof of Heaven, shares the next phase of his journey to understand the true nature of consciousness and how to cultivate a state of harmony with the universe and our higher purpose. In 2008, Dr. Eben Alexander's brain was severely damaged by a devastating case of bacterial meningitis, and he lapsed into a weeklong coma. It was almost certainly a death sentence, but he miraculously survived and brought back with him an astounding story. During those 7 days in coma, he was plunged into the deepest realms of consciousness and came to understand profound truths about the universe [...]