“Live From Sydney Australia”- My Conversation With Sarah Wilson, Author Of First, We Make the Beast Beautiful: A New Journey Through Anxiety

Click Here To Listen Sarah Wilson The New York Times bestselling author of I Quit Sugar transforms cultural perceptions of the mental health issue of our age—anxiety—viewing this widespread condition not as a burdensome affliction but as a powerful spiritual teacher that can deepen our lives. While reading psychiatrist Kay Redfield Jamison’s groundbreaking account of bipolar disorder An Unquiet Mind, Sarah Wilson discovered an ancient Chinese proverb that would change her life: To conquer a beast, you must first make it beautiful. Wilson, a bestselling author, journalist, and entrepreneur, had spent years struggling with her own beast: chronic anxiety. And the words of this proverb would become the key to understanding her condition. First, We [...]

My Conversation With Chester Santos, Author Of Mastering Memory: Techniques To Turn Your Brain From A Sieve To A Sponge

Click Here To Listen Chester Santos Improve your memory immediately, using these proven techniques taught by a former US National Memory Champion. Names. Addresses. Where you left your keys. What would you like to remember? Mastering Memory can help! Chester Santos, the 2008 US National Memory Champion and one of the foremost experts in the field, lays out his techniques for total recall, including the story method, the body method, the journey method, and the phonetic alphabet system. Santos presents his effective strategies in a lively and accessible way, focusing on their practical value to your career and your personal life.

Steve Brusatte, Author Of The Rise And Fall Of The Dinosaurs: A New History Of A Lost World

Click Here To Listen Steve Brusatte A sweeping and revelatory new history of the age of dinosaurs, from one of our finest young scientists. "THE ULTIMATE DINOSAUR BIOGRAPHY." — Scientific American The dinosaurs. Sixty-six million years ago, the Earth’s most fearsome creatures vanished. Today they remain one of our planet’s great mysteries. Now The Rise and Fall of the Dinosaurs reveals their extraordinary, 200-million-year-long story as never before. In this captivating narrative (enlivened with more than seventy original illustrations and photographs), Steve Brusatte, a young American paleontologist who has emerged as one of the foremost stars of the field—naming fifteen new species and leading groundbreaking scientific studies and fieldwork—masterfully tells the complete, surprising, and new [...]

Andrew Santella, Author Of Soon: An Overdue History Of Procrastination, From Leonardo And Darwin To You And Me Chats On DrAlvin.Com

Click Here To Listen AndrewSantella A fun and erudite celebration of procrastination An entertaining, fact-filled defense of the nearly universal tendency to procrastinate, drawing on the stories of history’s greatest delayers, and on the work of psychologists, philosophers, and behavioral economists to explain why we put off what we’re supposed to be doing and why we shouldn’t feel so bad about it. Like so many of us, including most of America’s workforce, and nearly two-thirds of all university students, Andrew Santella procrastinates. Concerned about his habit, but not quite ready to give it up, he set out to learn all he could about the human tendency to delay. He studied history’s greatest procrastinators to gain [...]

Tara Cousineau, Author The Kindness Cure: How the Science of Compassion Can Heal Your Heart and Your World

Click Here To Listen Tara Cousineau It’s time for a kindness revolution. In The Kindness Cure, psychologist Tara Cousineau draws on cutting-edge research in psychology and neuroscience to show how simple practices of kindness—for ourselves, for others, and for our world—can dissolve our feelings of fear and indifference, and open us up to a life of profound happiness. Compassion for ourselves and others is our birthright as humans—hardwired into our DNA and essential to our happiness. But in our fast-paced, technical savvy and hyper competitive world, it may come as no surprise that rates of narcissism have risen, while empathy levels have declined. We now find ourselves in a “cool to be cruel” culture where [...]

Hector MacDonald, Author Of Truth: How the Many Sides to Every Story Shape Our Reality

Click Here To Listen Hector MacDonald "In a time when truth is under assault, Hector Macdonald is here to defend it. He offers clear-eyed, compelling guidelines for becoming a more accurate consumer and producer of information."--Adam Grant, author of Give and Take, Originals, and Option B with Sheryl Sandberg For fans of Nudge, Sway, and The Art of Thinking Clearly, a fascinating dive into the many ways in which "competing truths" shape our opinions, behaviors, and beliefs. True or false? It's rarely that simple. There is more than one truth about most things. The Internet disseminates knowledge but it also spreads hatred. Eating meat is nutritious but it's also damaging to the environment. When we [...]

WilliamsonBusiness.Com 100 Leading Women 2018: Sharon Stewart

Click Here To Listen Williamson Business 100 Leading Women Sharon Stewart With more than 30 years of experience in Healthcare IT, Sharon helps hospitals make thoughtful, effective investments in information systems, people, processes, and technology. She empowers clients to deliver high-quality, affordable patient care through the use and optimization of information systems, including the implementation of Epic Community Connect systems. Believing that people, not systems, make hospitals work, Sharon takes a human-centered approach to IT system selection and implementation projects. Her strong track record in a variety of settings—including not-for-profit, for-profit, and managed care organizations—is evidence of her deep knowledge of industry trends, systems, and best practices. Sharon has led numerous ICD-10 assessments, implementation plans, [...]

NashvilleBusiness.Net: 100 Leading Women: Sharon Reynolds

Click Here To Listen Nashville Business 100 Leading Women Sharon Reynolds Founded on a dream and a mission, DevMar Products, LLC embodies environmental initiatives that will help sustain our planet for generations to come. In 2007, Sharon W. Reynolds, President/CEO launched the company with an idea to distribute environmentally-friendly products, including green cleaning solutions and office products. Her quest is to provide the highest level of knowledge, expertise, discretion, and integrity in the development of business opportunities for the company and environment. Moreover, she educates clients and suppliers on topics surrounding healthy workplace initiatives. In December 2013, DevMar Products became the sole provider of janitorial supplies and for Core Civic (CC) servicing over 65 facilities [...]

Rachel Herz, Author Of Why You Eat What You Eat: The Science Behind Our Relationship With Food Chats On DrAlvin.Com

Click Here To Listen Rachel Herz An eye-opening exploration of the psychology of eating in today’s unprecedented North American pantry of abundance, access, and excess. In Why You Eat What You Eat, acclaimed neuroscientist Rachel Herz examines the sensory, psychological, neuroscientific, and physiological factors that influence our eating habits. Herz, who’s been praised for her “ability to cite and explain academic studies in a conversational manner” (Washington Post), uncovers the fascinating and surprising facts that influence food consumption―such as why bringing reusable bags to the grocery store encourages us to buy more treats, how our beliefs can affect how many calories we burn, why TV influences how much we eat, and how what we see [...]

Michael Kodas, Author Of Megafire: The Race To Extinguish A Deadly Epidemic Of Flame Chats On DrAlvin.Com

Click Here To Listen Michael Kodas-Megafire A brilliant exploration of the rising phenomenon of megafires—forest fires of alarming scale, intensity, and devastation—that explains the science of what is causing them and captures the danger and heroism of those who fight them In Megafire, a world-renowned journalist and forest fire expert travels to the most dangerous and remote wildernesses, as well as to the backyards of people faced with these environmental disasters, to look at the heart of this phenomenon and witness firsthand the heroic efforts of the firefighters and scientists racing against time to stop it—or at least to tame these deadly flames. From Colorado to California, China to Canada, the narrative hopscotches the globe [...]