My Conversation With Andrew Gross, Author Of The Fifth Column

Click Here To Listen Andrew Gross-The Fifth Column “One of the best historical thriller authors in the business... [A] stellar novel.” —Associated Press #1 New York Times bestselling author of The One Man Andrew Gross once again delivers a tense, stirring thriller of a family torn apart set against the backdrop of a nation plunged into war. February, 1939. Europe teeters on the brink of war. In New York City, twenty-two thousand cheering Nazi supporters pack Madison Square Garden for a raucous, hate-filled rally. In a Hell’s Kitchen bar, Charles Mossman is reeling from the loss of his job and the demise of his marriage when a group draped in Nazi flags barges in. Drunk, [...]

By |September 11th, 2019|Fiction, German, History, Jewish, Military, Nazi, Thriller, War, World War|Comments Off on My Conversation With Andrew Gross, Author Of The Fifth Column

My Conversation With Daniel Okrent, Author Of The Guarded Gate: Bigotry, Eugenics And The Law That Kept Two Generations Of Jews, Italians, And Other European Immigrants Out Of America

Click Here To Listen Daniel Okrent By the widely celebrated New York Times bestselling author of Last Call—the powerful, definitive, and timely account of how the rise of eugenics helped America close the immigration door to “inferiors” in the 1920s. A forgotten, dark chapter of American history with implications for the current day, The Guarded Gate tells the story of the scientists who argued that certain nationalities were inherently inferior, providing the intellectual justification for the harshest immigration law in American history. Brandished by the upper class Bostonians and New Yorkers—many of them progressives—who led the anti-immigration movement, the eugenic arguments helped keep hundreds of thousands of Jews, Italians, and other unwanted groups out of [...]

By |May 14th, 2019|Government, History, Jewish|Comments Off on My Conversation With Daniel Okrent, Author Of The Guarded Gate: Bigotry, Eugenics And The Law That Kept Two Generations Of Jews, Italians, And Other European Immigrants Out Of America

My Conversation With Stephen Koch, Author Of Hitler’s Pawn: The Boy Assassin And The Holocaust

Click Here To Listen Stephen Koch A remarkable story of a forgotten seventeen-year-old Jew who was blamed by the Nazis for the anti-Semitic violence and terror known as the Kristallnacht, the pogrom still seen as an initiating event of the Holocaust After learning about Nazi persecution of his family, Herschel Grynszpan (pronounced "Greenspan"), an impoverished seventeen-year-old Jew living in Paris, bought a small handgun and on November 7, 1938, went to the German embassy and shot the first German diplomat he saw. When the man died two days later, Hitler and Goebbels made the shooting their pretext for the great state-sponsored wave of anti-Semitic terror known as Kristallnacht, still seen by many as an initiating [...]

By |February 28th, 2019|Biography, Jewish|Comments Off on My Conversation With Stephen Koch, Author Of Hitler’s Pawn: The Boy Assassin And The Holocaust

The Office Of The Citizen/Washington Post Report With Moriah Balingit: Synagogue Shooting Tests Pittsburgh, A Community Proud Of Welcoming Refugees

Click Here To Listen Moriah Balingit

By |October 31st, 2018|Jewish, Politics, Uncategorized|Comments Off on The Office Of The Citizen/Washington Post Report With Moriah Balingit: Synagogue Shooting Tests Pittsburgh, A Community Proud Of Welcoming Refugees

Dara Horn, Author Of Eternal Life: A Novel Chats On Dr. Alvin.Com

Click Here To Listen Dara Horn What would it really mean to live forever? Rachel is a woman with a problem: she can’t die. Her recent troubles―widowhood, a failing business, an unemployed middle-aged son―are only the latest in a litany spanning dozens of countries, scores of marriages, and hundreds of children. In the 2,000 years since she made a spiritual bargain to save the life of her first son back in Roman-occupied Jerusalem, she’s tried everything to free herself, and only one other person in the world understands: a man she once loved passionately, who has been stalking her through the centuries, convinced they belong together forever. But as the twenty-first century begins and her [...]

By |March 23rd, 2018|Gospel, Jewish, Spirituality, Women|Comments Off on Dara Horn, Author Of Eternal Life: A Novel Chats On Dr. Alvin.Com

Veera Hiranandani, Author Of The Night Diary Chats On DrAlvin.Com

Click Here To Listen Veera Hiranandani-The Night Diary In the vein of Inside Out and Back Again and The War That Saved My Life comes a poignant, personal, and hopeful tale of India's partition, and of one girl's journey to find a new home in a divided country It's 1947, and India, newly independent of British rule, has been separated into two countries: Pakistan and India. The divide has created much tension between Hindus and Muslims, and hundreds of thousands are killed crossing borders. Half-Muslim, half-Hindu twelve-year-old Nisha doesn't know where she belongs, or what her country is anymore. When Papa decides it's too dangerous to stay in what is now Pakistan, Nisha and her [...]

By |March 16th, 2018|Hindu, India, Jewish, Muslim, Women, Youth|Comments Off on Veera Hiranandani, Author Of The Night Diary Chats On DrAlvin.Com

David Greene, Author Of He Could Make Words Sing: An Ordinary Man During Extraordinary Times Chats On DrAlvin.Com

Click Here To Listen David Greene-Harry Greissman "Walk through the extraordinarily tumultuous 20th Century with Harry Greissman. His story recounts the issues so many Americans faced then and now as we are well into the 21st century. Immigration. Economic deprivation. Lost Love. War. Discrimination at work. The transition from urban to suburban life. A working couple raising a family. His story should resonate with most Americans. At the same time look at the events of the present to better understand the history that led to them. Compare and contrast. Relax... and see that no matter how bad the social media exaggerated issues are today, they do not compare with the issues those who survived the [...]

By |November 22nd, 2017|Advertising, Biography, Jewish|Comments Off on David Greene, Author Of He Could Make Words Sing: An Ordinary Man During Extraordinary Times Chats On DrAlvin.Com

Linda Stasi, Author Of Book Of Judas On DrAlvin.Com

Click Here To Listen Linda Stasi-Judas From hard-hitting New York Daily News columnist Linda Stasi comes Book of Judas, a riveting religious thriller featuring beloved protagonist Alessandra Russo. When her infant son is placed in mortal danger, New York City reporter Alessandra Russo is forced to save him by tracking down the missing pages of the Gospel of Judas, a heretical manuscript that was unearthed in Al-Minya, Egypt, in the 1970s. The manuscript declares that Judas was the beloved, not the betrayer, of Jesus. The Gospel disappeared for decades before being rediscovered, rotted beyond repair, in a safety deposit box. Rumors insist that the most important pages had been stolen―pages that Alessandra now must find, [...]

By |October 5th, 2017|Fiction, Gospel, Jewish, Mystery, Spirituality|Comments Off on Linda Stasi, Author Of Book Of Judas On DrAlvin.Com

The Great And Holy War: How World War I Became A Religious Crusade By Philip Jenkins chats with Dr. Alvin

Philip Jenkins Click Here To Listen The Great and Holy War offers the first look at how religion created and prolonged the First World War. At the one-hundredth anniversary of the outbreak of the war, historian Philip Jenkins reveals the powerful religious dimensions of this modern-day crusade, a period that marked a traumatic crisis for Western civilization, with effects that echoed throughout the rest of the twentieth century. The war was fought by the world's leading Christian nations, who presented the conflict as a holy war. Thanks to the emergence of modern media, a steady stream of patriotic and militaristic rhetoric was given to an unprecedented audience, using language that spoke of holy war and [...]

By |June 12th, 2014|Gospel, History, Jewish, Military, Movies, Spirituality, War|Comments Off on The Great And Holy War: How World War I Became A Religious Crusade By Philip Jenkins chats with Dr. Alvin

Kosher Lust: Love Is Not The Answer By Rabbi Shmuley Boteach chats with Dr. Alvin

Rabbi Shmuley Boteach Click Here To Listen Live From Germany Boy meets girl. Boy marries girl. Boy and girl enjoy the sparks in the early years, but eventually settle into a comfortable friendship, and all passion disappears from their marriage. That s just the way it goes, right? As many as one in three long-term marriages in America are sexless, and most people accept this as the inevitable course of a romantic relationship. In this groundbreaking book, Rabbi Shmuley Boteach explains why the prioritizing of love and companionship in marriage is all wrong, and why we should not go quietly into that dark night of celibate marriage. It is not love, Rabbi Shmuley shows, but [...]

By |June 6th, 2014|Jewish, Men, Relationships, Spirituality, Women|Comments Off on Kosher Lust: Love Is Not The Answer By Rabbi Shmuley Boteach chats with Dr. Alvin