My Conversation With Chester Santos, Author Of Mastering Memory: Techniques To Turn Your Brain From A Sieve To A Sponge

Click Here To Listen Chester Santos Improve your memory immediately, using these proven techniques taught by a former US National Memory Champion. Names. Addresses. Where you left your keys. What would you like to remember? Mastering Memory can help! Chester Santos, the 2008 US National Memory Champion and one of the foremost experts in the field, lays out his techniques for total recall, including the story method, the body method, the journey method, and the phonetic alphabet system. Santos presents his effective strategies in a lively and accessible way, focusing on their practical value to your career and your personal life.

My Conversation With Maia Duerr, Author Of Work That Matters: Create A Livelihood That Reflects Your Core Intention

Click Here To Listen Maia Duerr So many of us feel trapped in wage slavery and deadened to our true talents and life’s purpose. Or we’ve wandered through dozens of jobs and are left feeling adrift and without meaning in our lives. Livelihood is a source of great suffering for way too many. Author and longtime meditator Maia Duerr wandered through several professions and dozens of jobs (including alfalfa sprout packer and Buddhist chaplain) before she finally unlocked a combination of work that was deeply fulfilling and sustainable. These experiences provided her with rich material to examine the emotional, psychological, and cultural barriers to creating work that expressed her life’s core intention, what she calls [...]

Dr. Traci Stein, Author Of The Everything Guide To Integrative Pain Management: Conventional And Alternative Therapies For Managing Pain – Discover New Treatments, Regulate … Stress, and Nurture Your Body And Mind Chats On DrAlvin.com

Click Here To Listen Traci Stein Living with pain can be a daily struggle. If you are suffering from chronic pain, sometimes even small tasks can be difficult to accomplish. But there is hope. With The Everything Guide to Integrative Pain Management, you'll learn about the different options for managing pain with an integrative plan, that can include conventional therapies, such as medications, devices, or procedures, with natural and mind-body therapies, such as biofeedback, meditation, proper nutrition, exercise, and more. Including information on: Talking to health care professionals and loved ones about pain The role of diet and exercise in pain management Using Cognitive Behavioral Therapy (CBT) to reduce pain severity and improve coping Yoga, [...]

Gretchen Steidle, Author Of Leading from Within: Conscious Social Change and Mindfulness for Social Innovation Chats On DrAlvin.com

Click Here To Listen Gretchen Ki Steidle-Leading From Within A roadmap for integrating mindfulness into every aspect of social change: how to lead transformation with compassion for the needs and perspectives of all people. Gretchen Steidle knows first-hand the personal transformation that mindfulness practice can bring. But she doesn't believe that transformation stops at personal wellbeing. In Leading from Within, Steidle describes the ways that personal investment in self-awareness shapes leaders who are able to inspire change in others, build stronger relationships, and design innovative and more sustainable solutions. Steidle argues that both personal and societal transformation are essential for a just society, and with this book she offers a roadmap for integrating mindfulness into [...]

Debbie Ford, Author Of Your Holiness: Discover the Light Within Chats On DrAlvin.com

Click Here To Listen Arielle Ford-Debbie Ford Introduction by Marianne Williamson Foreword by Arielle Ford A recently discovered unpublished work by the beloved spiritual teacher and #1 New York Times bestselling author in which she reflects on the astonishing holiness that resides in each of us. "What you are seeking at the deepest level exists inside of you, in the quietude of your own inner world, in the privacy of your own sweet heart. So now it’s your responsibility, your holy responsibility, to encode your consciousness with thoughts, feelings and images that will support you in creating the perfect internal environment to cultivate a deep and intimate relationship with the one you call God. This [...]

Andrew Santella, Author Of Soon: An Overdue History Of Procrastination, From Leonardo And Darwin To You And Me Chats On DrAlvin.Com

Click Here To Listen AndrewSantella A fun and erudite celebration of procrastination An entertaining, fact-filled defense of the nearly universal tendency to procrastinate, drawing on the stories of history’s greatest delayers, and on the work of psychologists, philosophers, and behavioral economists to explain why we put off what we’re supposed to be doing and why we shouldn’t feel so bad about it. Like so many of us, including most of America’s workforce, and nearly two-thirds of all university students, Andrew Santella procrastinates. Concerned about his habit, but not quite ready to give it up, he set out to learn all he could about the human tendency to delay. He studied history’s greatest procrastinators to gain [...]

Tara Cousineau, Author The Kindness Cure: How the Science of Compassion Can Heal Your Heart and Your World

Click Here To Listen Tara Cousineau It’s time for a kindness revolution. In The Kindness Cure, psychologist Tara Cousineau draws on cutting-edge research in psychology and neuroscience to show how simple practices of kindness—for ourselves, for others, and for our world—can dissolve our feelings of fear and indifference, and open us up to a life of profound happiness. Compassion for ourselves and others is our birthright as humans—hardwired into our DNA and essential to our happiness. But in our fast-paced, technical savvy and hyper competitive world, it may come as no surprise that rates of narcissism have risen, while empathy levels have declined. We now find ourselves in a “cool to be cruel” culture where [...]

Hector MacDonald, Author Of Truth: How the Many Sides to Every Story Shape Our Reality

Click Here To Listen Hector MacDonald "In a time when truth is under assault, Hector Macdonald is here to defend it. He offers clear-eyed, compelling guidelines for becoming a more accurate consumer and producer of information."--Adam Grant, author of Give and Take, Originals, and Option B with Sheryl Sandberg For fans of Nudge, Sway, and The Art of Thinking Clearly, a fascinating dive into the many ways in which "competing truths" shape our opinions, behaviors, and beliefs. True or false? It's rarely that simple. There is more than one truth about most things. The Internet disseminates knowledge but it also spreads hatred. Eating meat is nutritious but it's also damaging to the environment. When we [...]

David Roberts, Author Of Limits Of The Known Chats On DrAlvin.Com

Click Here To Listen David Roberts-Limits Of The Known A celebrated mountaineer and author searches for meaning in great adventures and explorations, past and present. David Roberts, "veteran mountain climber and chronicler of adventures" (Washington Post), has spent his career documenting voyages to the most extreme landscapes on earth. In Limits of the Known, he reflects on humanity’s―and his own―relationship to extreme risk. Part memoir and part history, this book tries to make sense of why so many have committed their lives to the desperate pursuit of adventure. In the wake of his diagnosis with throat cancer, Roberts seeks answers with sharp new urgency. He explores his own lifelong commitment to adventuring, as well as [...]

Thomas Moore, Author Of Ageless Soul: The Lifelong Journey Toward Meaning and Joy

Click Here To Listen Thomas Moore-Ageless Soul "Beautifully and eloquently written...Thomas Moore convinces us that we age best when we embrace our age, live agelessly, and remember every day to find the endless joy nestled inside our soul." - Dr. Rudolph E. Tanzi, New York Times bestselling author of Super Brain and Super Genes Thomas Moore is the renowned author of Care of the Soul, the classic #1 New York Times bestseller. In Ageless Soul, Moore reveals a fresh, uplifting, and inspiring path toward aging, one that need not be feared, but rather embraced and cherished. In Moore’s view, aging is the process by which one becomes a more distinctive, complex, fulfilled, loving, and connected [...]