My Conversation With Julian Smith, Author Of Aloha Rodeo: Three Hawaiian Cowboys, The World’s Greatest Rodeo, And A Hidden History Of The American West

Click Here To Listen Julian Smith-Aloha Rodeo Set in Hawaii in aftermath of its annexation by the United States and in Wyoming during the twilight of the "Wild West," Aloha Rodeo uncovers the hidden history of the native Hawaiians who challenged the West's greatest cowboys—and returned home American legends. "An inspiring and impeccably crafted story of against-all-odds triumph. I loved this book, truly.” —SIMON WINCHESTER “Wolman and Smith’s masterful Aloha Rodeo is like uncovering a beautiful fresco you never knew was there, each turned page revealing another vivid and colorful piece of a true American West story that had lain long buried until now.” —SALLY JENKINS In August 1908, three unknown riders arrived in Cheyenne, [...]

By |May 31st, 2019|Animals, History, Sports|Comments Off on My Conversation With Julian Smith, Author Of Aloha Rodeo: Three Hawaiian Cowboys, The World’s Greatest Rodeo, And A Hidden History Of The American West

My Conversation With Nick Trout, Author Of The Wonder of Lost Causes: A Novel

Click Here To Listen Nick Trout-The Wonder Of Lost Causes In this unforgettable novel, perfect for fans of An Unexpected Grace and A Dog’s Way Home, a single mom and her chronically ill child receive a valuable lesson from an unlikely source—a very special dog who unexpectedly enters their lives and shows them that one person’s lost cause can be another’s greatest gift . . . Dr. Kate Blunt will do anything for her son, Jasper. Well, almost anything. Since Jasper has the incurable lung disease cystic fibrosis, Kate’s always told him he couldn’t get a dog. It’s a tough call, but she’s a single mom taking care of a kid who fights for every [...]

By |April 30th, 2019|Animals, Fiction|Comments Off on My Conversation With Nick Trout, Author Of The Wonder of Lost Causes: A Novel

My Conversation With Dr. Michael Engel, Author Of Innumerable Insects: The Story Of The Most Diverse And Myriad Animals On Earth (Natural Histories)

Click To Here To Listen Michael Engel The images . . . are the stars of this work, which will delight every entomophile who turns its pages.” — Publishers Weekly A fascinating look at the world’s most numerous inhabitants, illustrated with stunning images from the American Museum of Natural History’s Rare Book Collection. To date, we have discovered and described or named around 1.1 million insect species, and thousands of new species are added to the ranks every year. It is estimated that there are around five million insect species on Earth, making them the most diverse lineage of all life by far. This magnificent volume from the American Museum of Natural History tells their [...]

By |October 23rd, 2018|Animals, Art, Science, Uncategorized|Comments Off on My Conversation With Dr. Michael Engel, Author Of Innumerable Insects: The Story Of The Most Diverse And Myriad Animals On Earth (Natural Histories)

My Conversation With Mac Delaney Engineering For Cats: Better The Life Of Your Pet With10 Cat-Approved Projects

Click Here To Listen Mac Delaney There may be 100 million pet cats in this country, but who says that means they’re domesticated? Sure, they clean themselves, use a litter box, and hunt rodents, but cats are also territorial beasts who think furniture is meant for claw sharpening, and that running water is always better than still. In this inventive, surprisingly funny, and highly entertaining and practical book, Mac Delaney addresses the quirks of cat behavior through the mindset of an aerospace engineer (because that’s what he is!)—and gives us 10 projects that solve the most common sources of friction affecting cats and their doting owners. Take that preference for running water. Because cats don’t [...]

By |September 18th, 2018|Animals|Comments Off on My Conversation With Mac Delaney Engineering For Cats: Better The Life Of Your Pet With10 Cat-Approved Projects

My Conversation With Jonathan Alderfer Author Of National Geographic Kids Bird Guide Of North America, Second Edition (Science & Nature)

Click Here To Listen Jonathan Alderfer-Birds-2nd Edition Fly into the world of birds in the most complete guide for kids to North America's birds, featuring range maps, cool facts, fun activities, and detailed descriptions and drawings by Jonathan Alderfer, one of the country's top avian experts and artists. Kids can soar with peregrine falcons or hop with backyard sparrows or sing with robins in the pages of this engaging guide, perfectly leveled for kids just discovering these fascinating feathered friends. With beautiful photography and habitat snapshots, lots of the fun facts kids love, plus interactive birding activities and crafts, the newly updated and expanded guide is the perfect way to bring the fun and amazement [...]

By |June 27th, 2018|Animals|Comments Off on My Conversation With Jonathan Alderfer Author Of National Geographic Kids Bird Guide Of North America, Second Edition (Science & Nature)

My Conversation With Brian Skerry Author Of The Ultimate Book of Sharks (National Geographic Kids)

Click Here To Listen Brian Skerry Dive into the wild world of sharks! Get up close to learn the truth behind these fantastic, ferocious fish with famed National Geographic photographer and explorer Brian Skerry. Join this amazing underwater adventure to track the sharks of the world, from the teeniest dogfish to the everfeared great white. This ultimate book features every species of shark on the planet, with awesome photos, fascinating facts, the latest science, and firsthand stories of real-life encounters with these incredible creatures. Learn how sharks live, how they eat, the challenges they face, and whether or not you are actually on the menu!

By |June 14th, 2018|Animals, Fish, Science|Comments Off on My Conversation With Brian Skerry Author Of The Ultimate Book of Sharks (National Geographic Kids)

My Conversation With Dan Whalen, Author Of Tots!: 50 Tot-ally Awesome Recipes From Totchos To Sweet Po-tot-o Pie

Click Here To Listen Dan Whalen It’s a fact: Americans love tots, and last year consumed 3.5 billion of them. And not just at home. From fast-food joints to high-end restaurants, chefs are joining the tot trend, serving exotically spiced tots or fun mash-ups like Totchos, with tots replacing the corn chips in nachos. But now, prepare for TOT-al domination! Created by mad-genius food blogger Dan Whalen, Tots! elevates the friendly little tater to its place in the culinary spotlight. This irresistible cookbook with a nubby tot-texture on the cover offers 50 delicious, playful, and surprising recipes for snacks, appetizers, inspired main dishes, and inspired sides, even desserts. (Yes, you could create an entire tot-centric [...]

By |May 15th, 2018|Animals, Cooking / Food|Comments Off on My Conversation With Dan Whalen, Author Of Tots!: 50 Tot-ally Awesome Recipes From Totchos To Sweet Po-tot-o Pie

Zoo Animals & Their Discontents By Dr. Vint Virga chats with Dr. Alvin

Vint Virga Click Here To Listen My mission is to help people learn the art of careful observation, taking the time to watch and listen, that we may open our minds and hearts to our animal companions and the world we share with them. To appreciate the world from the perspective of animals, we must first seek to perceive the world through their senses – their vision, hearing, sense of smell, sensitivity to touch – and recognize how these differ from ours. When we embrace animals’ perspectives, we can learn how to walk better attuned to those around us. As we recognize our similarities across species, we can bring greater awareness and sensitivity to our [...]

By |July 15th, 2014|Animals, Science|Comments Off on Zoo Animals & Their Discontents By Dr. Vint Virga chats with Dr. Alvin

Deep: Freediving, Renegade Science, And What The Ocean Tells Us About Ourselves By James Nestor chats with Dr. Alvin

James Nestor Click Here To Listen While on assignment in Greece, journalist James Nestor witnessed something that confounded him: a man diving 300 feet below the ocean’s surface on a single breath of air and returning four minutes later, unharmed and smiling. This man was a freediver, and his amphibious abilities inspired Nestor to seek out the secrets of this little-known discipline. In Deep, Nestor embeds with a gang of extreme athletes and renegade researchers who are transforming not only our knowledge of the planet and its creatures, but also our understanding of the human body and mind. Along the way, he takes us from the surface to the Atlantic’s greatest depths, some 28,000 feet [...]

By |July 1st, 2014|Animals, Science|Comments Off on Deep: Freediving, Renegade Science, And What The Ocean Tells Us About Ourselves By James Nestor chats with Dr. Alvin

National Take Your Dog To Work Day: Aimee Gilbreath of Michelson Found Animals chats with Dr. Alvin

Aimee Gilbreath Click Here To Listen  

By |June 19th, 2014|Animals, Holidays|Comments Off on National Take Your Dog To Work Day: Aimee Gilbreath of Michelson Found Animals chats with Dr. Alvin