Andrew Santella, Author Of Soon: An Overdue History Of Procrastination, From Leonardo And Darwin To You And Me Chats On DrAlvin.Com

Click Here To Listen AndrewSantella A fun and erudite celebration of procrastination An entertaining, fact-filled defense of the nearly universal tendency to procrastinate, drawing on the stories of history’s greatest delayers, and on the work of psychologists, philosophers, and behavioral economists to explain why we put off what we’re supposed to be doing and why we shouldn’t feel so bad about it. Like so many of us, including most of America’s workforce, and nearly two-thirds of all university students, Andrew Santella procrastinates. Concerned about his habit, but not quite ready to give it up, he set out to learn all he could about the human tendency to delay. He studied history’s greatest procrastinators to gain [...]

Tara Cousineau, Author The Kindness Cure: How the Science of Compassion Can Heal Your Heart and Your World

Click Here To Listen Tara Cousineau It’s time for a kindness revolution. In The Kindness Cure, psychologist Tara Cousineau draws on cutting-edge research in psychology and neuroscience to show how simple practices of kindness—for ourselves, for others, and for our world—can dissolve our feelings of fear and indifference, and open us up to a life of profound happiness. Compassion for ourselves and others is our birthright as humans—hardwired into our DNA and essential to our happiness. But in our fast-paced, technical savvy and hyper competitive world, it may come as no surprise that rates of narcissism have risen, while empathy levels have declined. We now find ourselves in a “cool to be cruel” culture where [...]

Hector MacDonald, Author Of Truth: How the Many Sides to Every Story Shape Our Reality

Click Here To Listen Hector MacDonald "In a time when truth is under assault, Hector Macdonald is here to defend it. He offers clear-eyed, compelling guidelines for becoming a more accurate consumer and producer of information."--Adam Grant, author of Give and Take, Originals, and Option B with Sheryl Sandberg For fans of Nudge, Sway, and The Art of Thinking Clearly, a fascinating dive into the many ways in which "competing truths" shape our opinions, behaviors, and beliefs. True or false? It's rarely that simple. There is more than one truth about most things. The Internet disseminates knowledge but it also spreads hatred. Eating meat is nutritious but it's also damaging to the environment. When we [...]

David Roberts, Author Of Limits Of The Known Chats On DrAlvin.Com

Click Here To Listen David Roberts-Limits Of The Known A celebrated mountaineer and author searches for meaning in great adventures and explorations, past and present. David Roberts, "veteran mountain climber and chronicler of adventures" (Washington Post), has spent his career documenting voyages to the most extreme landscapes on earth. In Limits of the Known, he reflects on humanity’s―and his own―relationship to extreme risk. Part memoir and part history, this book tries to make sense of why so many have committed their lives to the desperate pursuit of adventure. In the wake of his diagnosis with throat cancer, Roberts seeks answers with sharp new urgency. He explores his own lifelong commitment to adventuring, as well as [...]

R.H. Stavis, Author Of Sister of Darkness: The Chronicles of a Modern Exorcist

Click Here To Listen RH Stavis The world’s only non-denominational exorcist tells her astonishing true story: a riveting chronicle of wrestling entities from infected souls, showing how pain and trauma opens us to attachment from forces that drain our energy . . . and can even destroy our humanity. As a secular exorcist, Rachel H. Stavis has cleansed thousands of tormented people, from small children and Hollywood moguls to stay-at-home moms and politicians. But for many years, the horror screenwriter and novelist denied her gift. As a little girl, she began to see "monsters" floating around her bedroom or attached to other children. Told it was only her imagination, Rachel learned to ignore the things [...]

Thomas Moore, Author Of Ageless Soul: The Lifelong Journey Toward Meaning and Joy

Click Here To Listen Thomas Moore-Ageless Soul "Beautifully and eloquently written...Thomas Moore convinces us that we age best when we embrace our age, live agelessly, and remember every day to find the endless joy nestled inside our soul." - Dr. Rudolph E. Tanzi, New York Times bestselling author of Super Brain and Super Genes Thomas Moore is the renowned author of Care of the Soul, the classic #1 New York Times bestseller. In Ageless Soul, Moore reveals a fresh, uplifting, and inspiring path toward aging, one that need not be feared, but rather embraced and cherished. In Moore’s view, aging is the process by which one becomes a more distinctive, complex, fulfilled, loving, and connected [...]

NashvilleBusiness.Net 100 Leading African Americans 2018 Recipient: Pastor John. R. Faison, Sr.

Click Here To Listen Nashville Business 100 Leading African Americans Pastor John Faison Sr John R. Faison, Sr. is the Senior Pastor of Watson Grove Baptist Church in Nashville, Tennessee, affectionately known as “The Grove,” where they endeavor to be “A GROWING church for GROWING people whom Christ will use in GROWING His Kingdom.” A native of Boykins, Virginia, Pastor Faison earned a Bachelor of Arts in Political Science from Virginia State University in Petersburg, Virginia and a Master of Arts in Practical Theology from Regent University in Virginia Beach, Virginia. He is currently pursuing a Doctor of Ministry degree at Payne Theological Seminary in Wilberforce, Ohio. Under Pastor Faison’s leadership, God is using The [...]

NashvilleBusiness.Net 100 Leading African Americans 2018 Recipient: Adonis Lenzy

Click Here To Listen Nashville Business 100 Leading African Americans Adonis Lenzy Adonis Lenzy is a author, speaker, and minister who enjoys speaking to people from all walks and stages of life, inspiring them to live the life they have imagined by going after their dreams. He has served in the ministry for over 20 years as an associate pastor and has devoted his life to building and strengthening the local Church. He has developed a unique style of communicating in creative, illustrative and humorous ways to his audiences. With ingenuity he crosses all ethnic, denominational and cultural barriers. Whether speaking at conferences, organizations, churches, or to your staff, his message will no doubt inspire, [...]

Tzivia Gover, Author Of The Mindful Way To A Good Night’s Sleep Chats On DrAlvin.com

Click Here To Listen Tzivia Gover-Good Night Sleep This accessible guide to cultivating deep, restful sleep — naturally — combines author Tzivia Gover’s expertise in both mindfulness and dreamwork. Along with a healthy dose of encouragement, Gover offers practical lifestyle advice, simple yoga poses, 10-minute meditations, and easy breathing exercises, plus visualization and journaling activities. You’ll also learn how to set the scene for safe, productive dreaming and cultivate your dream recall. This holistic approach extends into your waking hours with tips on morning routines to ensure that sound sleep leads to refreshed, more conscious living all day long.