About DrAlvin

This author has not yet filled in any details.
So far DrAlvin has created 730 blog entries.

John Prevas, Author Of Hannibal’s Oath: The Life And Wars Of Rome’s Greatest Enemy Chats On DrAlvin.Com

Click Here To Listen John Prevas According to the ancient sources, Hannibal was nine years old when his father led him to the temple at Carthage and dipped the young boy's hands in the blood of the sacrificial victim. Before those gods, Hannibal swore an oath of eternal hatred toward Rome. Few images in history have managed to capture and hold the popular imagination quite like that of Hannibal, the fearless North African, perched on a monstrous elephant, leading his mercenaries over the Alps, and then, against all odds, descending the ice-covered peaks to challenge Rome in her own backyard for mastery of the ancient world. It was a bold move, and it established Hannibal [...]

Brian Dear, Author Of The Friendly Orange Glow: The Untold Story Of The PLATO System And The Dawn Of Cyberculture Chats On DrAlvin.Com

Click Here To Listen Brian Dear At a time when Steve Jobs was only a teenager and Mark Zuckerberg wasn’t even born, a group of visionary engineers and designers—some of them only high school students—in the late 1960s and 1970s created a computer system called PLATO, which was light-years ahead in experimenting with how people would learn, engage, communicate, and play through connected computers. Not only did PLATO engineers make significant hardware breakthroughs with plasma displays and touch screens but PLATO programmers also came up with a long list of software innovations: chat rooms, instant messaging, message boards, screen savers, multiplayer games, online newspapers, interactive fiction, and emoticons. Together, the PLATO community pioneered what we [...]

Jeannette Watson, Author Of It’s My Party Chats On DrAlvin.Com

Click Here To Listen Jeannette Watson Born into a celebrity family (her father was Watson's son, who turned the company into the powerhouse it still is today, and her mother, Olive, had dated Howard Hughes and John F. Kennedy), Jeannette Watson's larger-than-life family hid a number of secrets. Behind a facade of order and glamour, Tom Watson often experienced dark moods; his depression was something he passed on to his daughter. Jeannette felt she could never measure up to her mother-a legendary beauty-and kept her nose buried in books. Through her years as a debutante, then young wife and mother, Watson kept her feelings under wraps until she had a mental breakdown. As part of [...]

Devin Murphy, Author Of The Boat Runner: A Novel Chats On DrAlvin.Com

Click Here To Listen Devin Murphy In the tradition of All The Light We Cannot See and The Nightingale, comes an incandescent debut novel about a young Dutch man who comes of age during the perilousness of World War II. Beginning in the summer of 1939, fourteen-year-old Jacob Koopman and his older brother, Edwin, enjoy lives of prosperity and quiet contentment. Many of the residents in their small Dutch town have some connection to the Koopman lightbulb factory, and the locals hold the family in high esteem. On days when they aren’t playing with friends, Jacob and Edwin help their Uncle Martin on his fishing boat in the North Sea, where German ships have become [...]

Mindy Tarquini, Author Of The Infinite Now: A Novel Chats On DrAlvin.Com

Click Here To Listen Mindy Tarquini In flu-ravaged 1918 Philadelphia, Fiora Vicente, the freshly orphaned and forward-thinking daughter of the local fortune teller, has goals. She has ambitions. But when faced with a future she hasn't planned, she has second thoughts--and casts her community into a stagnant bubble of time. Inside the bubble, life among Fiora's superstitious neighbors continues, but nothing progresses, swamped by a steady stream of unspent seconds. As the pressure builds Fiora realizes she must find the courage to collapse the bubble--or risk trapping her dreams in an unbearable, unyielding, and infinite Now.

By |November 15th, 2017|Fiction|0 Comments

Devorah Blachor, Author Of The Feminist’s Guide To Raising A Little Princess: How To Raise A Girl Who’s Authentic, Joyful, And Fearless–Even If She Refuses To Wear Anything But A Pink Tutu Chats On DrAlvin.Com

Click Here To Listen Devorah Blachor “May God grant me the serenity to accept the color pink, the courage to not let my house become a shrine to pink and princesses, and the wisdom to know that pink is just a color, not a decision to never attend college in the hopes of marrying wealthy.” - from The Feminist’s Guide to Raising a Little Princess Smart, funny, and thought-provoking, this book shows feminist parents how to navigate their daughters' princess-obsessed years by taking a non-judgmental and positive approach. Devorah Blachor, an ardent feminist, never expected to be the parent of a little girl who was totally obsessed with the color pink, princesses, and all things [...]

Claudia Hunter Johnson, Author Of Hurtling Toward Happiness: A Mother And Teenage Son’s Road Trip From Blues To Bonding In A Really Small Car Chats On DrAlvin.Com

Click Here To Listen Claudia Hunter Johnson The Funny, Wise, Bighearted Story of a Bonding Road Trip—and the Healing Power of Human Connection When Claudia's sixteen-year-old son, Ross, announces he's quitting high school and leaving home a year early, she panics because they're so disconnected she's afraid she'll lose him forever. Then a small miracle happens—they discover they have the same escape fantasy, to head west on I-10 to where she grew up, in Corpus Christi, Houston, and Kingsville, Texas. So, on a tight budget and with the expense clock ticking, they travel from Tallahassee to Texas and back, 2,400 miles in one week. But the distance they cover transcends the miles that they drive. [...]

By |November 15th, 2017|Biography|0 Comments

Barbara A. Radnofsky, Author Of A Citizen’s Guide to Impeachment Chats On DrAlvin.Com

Click Here To Listen Barbara Radnofsky Impeachment is based upon “those offences which proceed from the misconduct of public men, or, in other words, from the abuse or violation of some public trust … as they relate chiefly to injuries done immediately to the society itself.” —Alexander Hamilton A non-partisan guide to a precise understanding of the rules and history of impeachment . . . Spotlighting in particular the precise rules of impeachment—including an explanation of the crucial grounds for impeachment, the famous “high crimes and misdemeanors”—the book also details its origins in British law, the rules as set out by the founding fathers in the Constitution, and their application throughout the history of our [...]

William J. Cooper, Author Of The Lost Founding Father: John Quincy Adams And The Transformation Of American Politics Chats On DrAlvin.Com

Click Here To Listen William Cooper Why has John Quincy Adams been largely written out of American history when he is, in fact, our lost Founding Father? Long relegated to the sidelines of history as the hyperintellectual son of John and Abigail Adams, John Quincy Adams (1767–1848), has never basked in the historical spotlight. Remembered, if at all, as an ineffective president during an especially rancorous time, Adams was humiliated in office after the contested election of 1824, viciously assailed by populist opponents for being both slippery and effete, and then resoundingly defeated by the western war hero Andrew Jackson, whose 1828 election ushered in an era of unparalleled expansion. Aware of this reputation yet [...]

Dr. Joel Fuhrman, Author Of Fast Food Genocide: How Processed Food is Killing Us and What We Can Do About It Chats On Dr. Alvin

Click Here To Listen Joel Fuhrman-Fast Food Genocide From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Eat to Live and The End of Diabetes, an unflinching, provocative exploration of how our food is killing us and the ways in which we are unwitting participants in an unprecedented and exploding health crisis. Fast food is far more than just the burgers, fries, and burritos served at chain restaurants; it is also the toxic, human-engineered products found in every grocery store across America. These include: cold breakfast cereals; commercial and preserved (deli) meats and cheeses; sandwich breads and buns; chips, pretzels, and crackers; fried foods; energy bars; and soft drinks. Fast foods have become the primary [...]